Virtual Tour \ 3D Modeling

Photogrammetry: from photo to 3D

1/6

If the photograph perfectly accounts for surfaces, it remains a two-dimensional representation of reality. How then can we account for the volumes?

Photogrammetry compensates for this lack. This technique is based on stereography which makes it possible to perceive the reliefs. From a series of photographs processed using 3D software, a mathematical model is created. The coordinate of each element is calculated to generate a point cloud. A texture is then applied to create a realistic three-dimensional representation of the object.

 

This faithful representation of volumes, shapes and textures can then be observed from all angles. This technology can also be used to reproduce objects using a 3D printer.

In order to make the most of the examples offered at the bottom of the page, activate full screen mode.

(page translated by google)

École de Nancy Cup

 

Small enamel dish about 20 cm in diameter.

Private collection

Sculpture of a buffet by Eugène Vallin

This buffet is a piece of furniture "École de Nancy" signed Eugène Vallin. Its pediment is decorated with a sculpture that is difficult to appreciate in photography. 3D modeling makes it possible to better see the volumes and shapes of this work.

Maison Bergeret collection, Université de Lorraine

Statue of Jacques Callot

Located in Nancy, on the side of the Arc Héré behind Place Stanislas, this facade is approximately 15 meters wide.

Rue Lionnois in Nancy

 

Modeling of a street made from photographs taken by drone. The central point of this modeling is the Bergeret Mansion which was the subject of a virtual visit for the University of Lorraine. Many hours of calculation were required to generate this rendering from 171 high definition photos.

Visite Virtuelle \ Photogrammétrie

Photogrammétrie : de la photo à la 3D

1/6

Si la photographie rend parfaitement compte des surfaces, elle reste une représentation en deux dimensions de la réalité. Dès lors, comment rendre compte des volumes ?

La photogrammétrie pallie ce manque. Cette technique s'appuie sur la stéréographie qui permet de percevoir les reliefs. À partir d’une série de photographies traitées grâce à des logiciels 3D, un modèle mathématique est créé. La coordonnée de chaque élément est calculée pour générer un nuage de points. Une texture est ensuite appliquée pour créer une représentation réaliste en trois dimensions de l'objet.

 

Cette représentation fidèle des volumes, des formes et des textures peut alors être observée sous tous les angles. Cette technologie peut également être utilisée pour reproduire des objets à l'aide d'une imprimante 3D.

Afin de profiter au mieux des exemples proposés en bas de page, activez le mode plein écran.

Coupelle École de Nancy

 

Petite coupelle émaillée d'environ 20 cm de diamètre.

Collection privée

Sculpture d'un buffet d'Eugène Vallin

Le buffet à la Cueilleuse est un meuble "École de Nancy" signé Eugène Vallin. Son fronton est orné d'une sculpture qu'il est difficile d'apprécier en photographie. Une modélisation 3D permet de mieux voir les volumes et les formes de cette œuvre.

Collection Maison Bergeret, Université de Lorraine

Statue de Jacques Callot

Située à Nancy, sur le côté de l'Arc Héré derrière la place Stanislas, cette façade mesure environ 15 mètres de large.

Rue Lionnois à Nancy

 

Modélisation d'une rue réalisée à partir de photographies prises par drone. Le point central de cette modélisation est l'Hôtel particulier Bergeret qui a fait l'objet d'une visite virtuelle pour l'Université de Lorraine. De nombreuses heures de calcul ont été nécessaires pour générer ce rendu à partir de 171 photographies haute définition.